Birth Record for Deceased Person
Under Illinois State Law (410 ILCS 535-Vital Records Act), only specific individuals have legal access to birth, death, or marriage/civil union certificates. The Ogle County Clerk’s Office will issue certificates to authorized individuals only. To do otherwise is a violation of Illinois Law. Vital records are not considered public information, neither are they subject to the Freedom of Information Act.
Please Note: Absolutely no information can be given over the telephone regarding vital records.
Certified Copy To obtain a certified copy of a birth certificate of a deceased person, you must be one of the following:
The next of kin
Someone who has a personal or property right interest in the certificate
You must supply proof of death (examples: an obituary column or death certificate) if the certificate is 75 years old or less.
Requests in Person
Requests made in the office can be paid by cash or check.
Requests made in the office require a valid driver’s license, state issued ID, or a passport.
$22 for first copy, $4 each additional copy of the same birth certificate.
Request by Mail
All mail requests must include a copy of both sides of a signature ID, application, proper payment and self-addresses stamped envelope