The Ogle County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) was created by an act of Congress known as the “Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act of 1986 (EPCRA).”  The law requires that each state establish planning districts.  In Illinois, the Governor named each county a planning district.

Each district was to form a committee that included a representative from the following groups or organizations.

  • Elected State and Local Officials
  • Law Enforcement
  • Emergency Management
  • Firefighting
  • First Aid
  • Health
  • Local Environment
  • Hospital
  • Transportation Personnel
  • Broadcast and Print Media
  • Community Groups
  • Facility Owners/Operators

Community Right to Know

The Ogle County LEPC has set up a Community Right to Know Program which incorporates the chemicals reported to the LEPC by local businesses.  This program is based upon the 1986 Title III of Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA).  This legislation requires local planning by businesses and response agencies (such as fire departments) whenever hazardous materials are involved.  SARA also requires the establishment of a system in each community that informs citizens of chemicals used, manufactured or stored locally.

Click here to read the LEPC Bylaws