Illinois Law did not require birth, death, or marriage records to be recorded until 1916. If the record is not in the index, no record is on file.
Vital Records Act in regards to Genealogical copies – ILCS 535/24
Note: We are unable to do search requests by phone.
- FOIA - Under Section (1)(a) of FOIA, these records are exempted as "information specifically prohibited from disclosure by federal or state law or rules and regulations implementing federal or state law." See 5 ILCS 140/7(1)(a). The Vital Records Act states, "it is unlawful for any custodian to permit inspection of, or to disclose information contained in, vital records, or to copy or permit to be copied, all or any part of any such record except as authorized by this Act or regulations adopted pursuant hereto."
We have Index Books beginning as early as 1860; this will list the name on record, birth date, parents’ names, and reference number for finding the record. Genealogical searchers can obtain a certified copy of a birth record if it is 100 years or older.
We have Index Books beginning as early as 1878; this will only list the name on the record, date of death, and the reference book for finding the record. Genealogical searchers can obtain a certified copy of a death record if it is 50 years or older.
We have Index Books beginning as early as 1837; the index will show the year the marriage was recorded, the groom’s name, the bride’s name, and the reference number for finding the record. The index is cross-referenced under the groom and the bride.
Genealogical record fees are $22 for birth and marriage and $26 for death. This includes the search and the first copy (via mail request). Each additional copy of the same search is $4 for birth and marriage and $8 for death. If the record is searched and not found the original fee still applies. If you are uncertain of the year, a time frame is still required to conduct the search.
Requests in Person - -
Requests made in the office can be paid by cash or check
Office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm (except for county holidays).
Requests made in the office require a valid driver’s license, state-issued ID, or a passport.
Request by Mail
All mail requests must include a copy of both sides of a signature ID, application, proper payment and self-addressed stamped envelope.
You can e-mail vital@ oglecountyil.gov to verify a request for genealogical purposes only. You must submit the following information – name of person – name of event – place of event – date (or 10 year span to search). These will be answered as time permits.
Please visit the GIS Web Application for information on Historic Ogle County, Illinois
Click on map below